ETFCU awards ten $5,000 Ted Hitch Scholarships

Ten area high school seniors earned $5,000 awards through the Evansville Teachers Federal Credit Union Ted Hitch Scholarship program.

The students, selected from a competitive group of 99 applicants, will be honored on April 28.

This year’s recipients:

  • Brenden Bittner, Gibson Southern High School
  • Nate Flamion, Harrison High School
  • Madisyn Grigsby, Central High School
  • Andrew Heldman, Mater Dei High School
  • Jonathan Hueftle, Mt. Vernon High School
  • Brooklyn Knight, Apollo High School
  • Thomas Mishler, North High School
  • David Nickel, FJ Reitz High School
  • Lucas Riggs, North High School
  • Sophia Thompson, Reitz Memorial High School

The scholarships are named in honor of Theodore “Ted” Hitch Jr., a longtime mathematics teacher at Bosse High School who championed education. Hitch served as manager/CEO of ETFCU for 28 years, from 1961-1989. He passed away in 2016.

Since the scholarships’ implementation in 1993, ETFCU has awarded $570,000 to 230 recipients. The award began with five $1,000 scholarships, increased to ten $2,000 scholarships in 2005, and increased again to ten $5,000 scholarships in 2015.

To be eligible, either the applicant or the applicant’s parents/guardians must be a member of ETFCU. Applications are expected to have a minimum 3.75 unweighted grade point average on a 4.0 grading scale, and the rigorous process includes submission of SAT and/or ACT testing scores, financial need, letters of reference, extracurricular activities, and an essay.

A judging committee is appointed by the chairman of the ETFCU Board of Directors.